Latest articles

Hilgartner new chair of Alberta Pulse Growers

Kevin Auch and Greg Sears re-elected as commission chairs as farm groups welcome new directors

D’Arcy Hilgartner is the new chair of the Alberta Pulse Growers.

Hilgartner farms 8,000 acres near Camrose with wife Lori, his brother, and their families. Hilgartner has grown pulses for more than 25 years; participated in research plots and demonstration trials; and represented Alberta Pulse Growers at a variety of international events, including most recently at the Pulse Conclave in India.

He succeeds Allison Ammeter, who will continue to serve on the board as past chair. Caroline Sekulic, who joined the board a year ago, is the new vice-chair. She and husband Nick have a mixed operation on 10,000 acres near Rycroft, which includes crops and 100 head of Angus-cross cows.

New director Greg Stamp (Zone 1) joins Rodney Volk, Doug Sell, Ryan Kubinec, Fraser Robertson, and Don Shepert on the board. Tim VanderHoek was acclaimed to a third one-year term as director-at-large (bean) and John Kowalchuk was acclaimed to a second one-year term as director-at-large (non-bean). Outgoing directors are Robert Weisgerber (Zone 1) and James Jackson (Zone 3). One Zone 3 spot on the board is vacant.

Meanwhile, Alberta Wheat Commission chair Kevin Auch and vice-chair Kevin Bender were re-elected to their positions at the recent AGM at FarmTech. Both Auch, who farms near Carmangay, and Bender, who farms near Sylvan Lake, are in their second year in these positions.

There are two new faces on the board — Cole Siegle from Clyde will represent Region 5, and Jason Saunders from Taber will represent Region 1. Siegle and Saunders replace Henry Vos from Region 5 and Lynn Jacobson from Region 1, both of whom chose not to seek re-election. Both Jacobson and Vos had served on the board since the commission started in 2012.

There are five new directors on Alberta Canola’s board: Mike Ammeter (Sylvan Lake) replaces Terry Young in Region 7; Dan Doll (Fairview) replaces Kelly McIntyre in Region 1; John Mayko (Mundare) replaces Daryl Tuck in Region 4; Cale Staden (Mannville) replaces Stuart Holmen in Region 10, and Brian Hildebrand (Foremost) is the new director for Region 12.

Greg Sears was re-elected as chair and Renn Breitkreuz was re-elected as vice-chair.

About the author


Stories from our other publications