Alberta Canola Producers sees director races in Regions 4 and 7

Photo: iStock/Getty Images

There will be elections in two of the Alberta Canola Producers Commission’s (ACPC) 12 regions, according to a statement from the commission.

In Region 4, incumbent John Mayko of Mundare will square off against challenger Kyle Tarkowski of Myrnam. The candidates will speak at the regional meeting in Vegreville on Nov. 20.

In Region 7, incumbent Mike Ammeter of Sylvan Lake is up against challenger Steven Olson of Wetaskiwin. Canola producers will have the opportunity to hear the candidates talk at the regional meeting in Lacombe on Nov. 19.

Also, the ACPC will have a series of speakers at all of the 12 regional meetings, which have been titled ‘Powering Your Profits.’ The Lacombe meeting will feature MarketsFarm analyst Mike Jubinville, along with independent canola specialist Murray Hartman, Clinton Jurke from the Canola Council of Canada and MNP’s Rob Strilchuk.

The Vegreville meeting includes Keith Gabert from the Canola Council, Greg Kostal of Kostal Ag Consulting, Scott Meers from Alberta Agriculture and Energy, and MNP’s Lindsey Nichol.

There were two acclamations, with Dan Doll of Fairview in Region 1 and Cale Staden of Vermilion in Region 10. Both are going into their second terms.

For regions with elections, the commission will mail information packages and ballots prior to Nov. 30. The ballots will be counted on Jan. 3 and the directors will begin their terms at the ACPC’s annual general meeting on Jan. 28.


About the author


Stories from our other publications