Alberta students win Monsanto Fund scholarships

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Thirteen young Albertans are among the 65 students who have been awarded a $1,500 scholarship from the Monsanto Fund.

The scholarships are for students entering their first year of agriculture or food-related studies at a Canadian university and college.

Traditionally the Monsanto Fund Opportunity Scholarship Program required applicants to be from a farm and entering agriculture or an agricultural-related field of study. In honour of the program’s 25th anniversary last year, and the recognition of the close connection between farming and food, eligibility was extended to students pursuing studies in food-related fields of study, regardless of whether they grew up on a farm or not.

“Our program has always been about supporting young people in their pursuit of a diploma or degree in agriculture because we need the very best to consider agriculture as a career path so our industry can continue to grow and prosper,” said Trish Jordan, director of public and industry affairs with Monsanto Canada.

“Our decision to open up the program to students interested in a food-related career was driven by a desire to close the gap between farming and food.”

The program has awarded more than $1.9 million since 1991. Details on the launch of the 2018 program will be available at in February (click on the Our Commitments pull-down menu and then on Opportunity Scholarship).

This year’s Alberta winners are Gwyn Beatty (Chauvin), Joelle Benoit (Girouxville), Cole Chesterman (Edgerton), Jessica Dugan (Sherwood Park), Emmalyn Elgersma (Brooks), Alyssa Henderson (Bashaw), Cassandra Klaas (Claresholm), Erika MacDonald (St. Albert), Miranda Miranda (Red Deer), Afke Muller (Hays), Grace Nimco (Colinton), Kaitlin Rose (Champion), and Jourdyn Sammons (Gleichen).

About the author



Stories from our other publications