Bayer scholarships awarded to 13 Albertans

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Thirteen Alberta students have been awarded $1,500 scholarships from the Bayer Fund through its Opportunity Scholarship Program.

In all, 67 Canadian students pursuing post-secondary education in agriculture and food-related disciplines received scholarships based on their academic achievements and leadership in their schools and communities. Applicants had to be nominated by a farmer or food professional, and write a short essay outlining the role they envision themselves playing in advancing Canadian agriculture in a sustainable way. The scholarship program received 140 applications from across Canada this year.

The Alberta recipients are Caryn Baxter (Whitecourt), Heidi Burrell (Sundre), Reid Caukill (Red Deer County), Luke Loman (Picture Butte), Alysia Medema (Fort Macleod), Reegan Molenaar (Picture Butte), Carson Neitz (Stettler), Esther Nooijen (Stettler), Ashley Owen (Wrentham), Allison Pudlowski (Morinville), Carter Reed (Delia), Courtney Taylor (Warner), and Jacob Togstad (Beiseker).

Bayer also offers a $5,000 Scholarship for Future Leaders. For information on both, go to and scroll down to Scholarship Information at the bottom of the home page.

About the author



Stories from our other publications