Cattlemen’s Young Leaders 2012 recipients selected

Reading Time: < 1 minute

The Cattlemen’s Young Leaders (CYL) Development Program has announced its 2012 national mentorship recipients. The 16 recipients were selected following the final selection round at the CYL Spring Forum in Saskatoon, where a total of 24 finalists vied for a spot in the national youth initiative of the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association (CCA).

The 2012 CYL mentorship recipients are:

  • British Columbia: Cole Bailey and Erika Strand.
  • Alberta: Amy Mayner, Brodie Haugan, Jakob Meyer, Joanne Solverson, Kerry Hyatt, Micheal Nadeau, Travis Ebens, and Tyson Lowe.
  • Saskatchewan: Ashley Shannon, Eric Buyer, Jeffery Yorga, and Ryan Hurlburt.
  • Ontario: Kimberly McCaw and Katie Wood.

The CYL Development Program provides industry-specific training and mentorship opportunities to young producers. CYL participants have the opportunity to explore a potential career choice or involvement with a provincial/national producer organization, while gaining the expertise and business acumen necessary to sustain the cattle industry into the future.

Funding for the CYL Program is made available through its Foundation Partners, UFA Co-operative Ltd., the Alberta Livestock and Meat Agency (ALMA) and Cargill. The CYL Spring Forum was sponsored by Farm Credit Canada and Meyers Norris Penny.

About the author



Stories from our other publications