Harper succeeds Nielsen as Grain Growers’ chair

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Andre Harpe is taking over from fellow Albertan Jeff Nielsen as chair of the Grain Growers of Canada’s board.

“Our new executive team will continue to push an ambitious agenda, and advocate for the needs of our critically important sector to policy-makers and legislators,” said the producer from Valhalla Centre.

Nielsen, who farms near Olds, joined the organization’s board in 2015 and oversaw the farm group’s restructuring after becoming chair the following year.

“When I look at my time here, I think I am going to be most proud of how we all came together to remake this organization in a way that worked for everyone,” he said. William van Tassel from Quebec and Brendan Phillips from Manitoba are the group’s vice-chairs.

About the author



Stories from our other publications