High-profile ag committee to advise province

Reading Time: < 1 minute

The UCP government has set up a number of advisory groups with high-profile members, including the Economic Recovery Council that includes former prime minister Stephen Harper among its members.

The newest advisory panel is called the Champions of Agriculture.

The group will provide “strategic advice and recommendations on emerging issues and priorities related to consumer confidence, and work to debunk myths in the agriculture industry,” the government said.

The committee will be co-chaired by Jill Harvie, who operates a ranch with her family near Olds, and Nichole Neubauer, a farmer who is well known in the Medicine Hat area for her efforts to educate the public about food production.

The group’s membership is also prominent names on the provincial and national agriculture scene: Allison Ammeter (crops farmer and chair of the Plant Protein Alliance of Alberta), David Collwell (president and CEO of JBS Foods Canada), Jeff Fitzpatrick-Stilwell (sustainability and agriculture lead, McDonald’s Canada), Bob Lowe (president of the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association), Jean-Marc Ruest (senior vice-president with Richardson International), John Simpson (chair of CANA group of companies and owner of Simpson Ranching), Baljit Singh (dean of the faculty of veterinary medicine at University of Calgary) and Gary Stanford (grain farmer and past chair of Alberta Wheat).

About the author



Stories from our other publications