Your Reading List

Next edition of Cattlemen’s Young Leaders underway

Next edition of Cattlemen’s Young Leaders underway
Reading Time: 2 minutes

Albertans make up more than half of this year’s crop of mentors and mentees in the 2016-17 Cattlemen’s Young Leaders program.

The program, which began as a pilot in Alberta six years ago, matches 16 young people between the ages of 18 and 35 with experienced members of the beef sector. A selection committee matches mentors who can offer both guidance and industry-specific training that meets the interests and goals of the mentees.

There are two streams in the program. The professional mentorship program is for young people just starting their careers in a beef-related profession. The industry leader mentorship is tailored to active beef producers who exhibit leadership potential and are interested in roles such as sitting on a provincial or national beef board. The program begins with mentees working with their mentors to develop a “road map” that sets out the goals they want to achieve during the year. Mentees are also given $2,000 for attending industry conferences and events.

The 2016-17 mentors and mentees are:

  • Graeme Finn (Madden) and Mel Hermanson (Hussar);
  • Ryan Copithorne (Jumping Pound) and Madelaine Knodel (Seven Persons);
  • Ryan Kasko (Lethbridge) and Jesse Williams (Hanna);
  • Brenna Grant (Calgary) and Mona Howe (Empress);
  • Leighton Kolk (Iron Springs) and Luke Marshall (Innisfail);
  • Deborah Wilson (Edmonton) and Grayden Kay (Lloydminster);
  • Jeff and Lyndsay Smith (Taber) and Wilco van Meijl (Brandon, Man.);
  • Carol Kitchen (Calgary) and Kristy-Layne Carr (La Broquerie, Man.);
  • Darren Bevans (Raymond) and Kylie McRae (Forget, Sask.);
  • Dr. Tom Smylie (Johnstown, Ont.) and Becky Tees (Cochrane);
  • John Sullivan (Dunlap, Iowa) and Katie Songer (Sylvan Lake);
  • Ryder Lee (Regina) and Jessica Sperber (Rimbey);
  • Tim Hardman (Washington, D.C.) and Nicole Viste (Hanna);
  • Hon. Ed Fast (Abbotsford, B.C.) and Ryan Scorgie (Kamloops, B.C.);
  • Marty Seymour (Regina) and Roxanne Olynyk (Regina);
  • Matthew Heneliak (Norwich, Ont.) and Jason Hurst (Guelph, Ont.).

More than 80 young people have participated in the program. Applications for the 2017-18 program will open in January (for more information go to

About the author



Stories from our other publications