Nominate an exceptional livestock welfare leader

Deadline for nominations is Feb. 15

Nominate an exceptional livestock welfare leader
Reading Time: 2 minutes

Alberta Farm Animal Care initiated its awards of distinction in 2001 to recognize individuals or groups who have made exceptional contributions in the field of livestock welfare.

These individuals or organizations work hard to advance the mandate of AFAC and the welfare of livestock in Alberta. They apply new, innovative ideas and management practices to improve and ensure high standards of animal well-being. They understand the public’s need for assurance that farm animals are raised humanely. They can be held up as examples of those who are making a difference.

There are three award categories:

Distinction for Communication

This award honours those who take an active role in effectively telling the story about livestock issues, and informing the public and agri-food industry about farm animal care in a factual and honest way that is credible and builds trust.

Distinction for Industry Leadership

This award honours those who integrate animal welfare into their core business strategy, striving to achieve more than expected regarding animal welfare and setting a higher standard.

Distinction for Innovation

This award honours those who have developed a new process, product, or source of knowledge that has made a significant impact on improving the welfare of livestock and the industry.

Nominees must demonstrate a strong commitment to others through contributions to their community or society, and be recognized by peers as having reached a high level of accomplishment and expertise in their field.

If you know an individual or organization whose contributions to animal care enhance their community and inspire others, please take a few minutes to summarize (in letter format) why you believe they deserve the award and email the information to the AFAC. Nominations can be made at the Alberta Farm Animal Care website or by emailing Kristen Hall at [email protected].

The deadline for nominations is Feb. 15 and the awards will be given out at the Livestock Care Conference on March 15 in Olds.

About the author



Stories from our other publications