Nominations sought for AFAC’s Awards of Distinction

Deadline for nominations is Feb. 15

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Alberta Farm Animal Care is seeking nominations for its Awards of Distinction, which recognize individuals or groups who have made exceptional contributions in the field of livestock welfare.

There are three award categories:

  • The communication award recognizes those who have taken an active role in effectively getting the message out about livestock issues, and informing the public and agri-food industry about farm animal care in a factual and honest way to build trust and credibility.
  • The industry leadership award recognizes those who integrate animal welfare into their core business strategy, setting their own bar higher for expectations regarding animal welfare.
  • The innovation award recognizes those who have developed a new process, product, or source of knowledge that has made a significant impact on improving the welfare of livestock and the industry.

Nominees must demonstrate a strong commitment to others through contributions to his or her community or society, and be recognized by peers as having reached a high level of accomplishment and expertise. Nominations may be submitted to Kristen McDonald at [email protected]. The deadline for nominations is Feb. 15.

About the author



Stories from our other publications