Six crop commission directors acclaimed

Some director spots are still open as well as positions for regional reps and delegates

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Several directors and reps on Alberta crop commissions have been elected by acclamation.

Denis Guindon of Falher (Region 3) and Kevin Serfas from Turin (Region 9) will both serve a second three-year term on the board of directors of the Alberta Canola Producers Commission. Wayne Schneider from Nisku was also acclaimed to the board, replacing outgoing director Renn Breitkreuz in Region 6.

Region 12 received no nominations, so an election for the director for that region will take place during the farm group’s AGM at FarmTech on Jan. 29.

Two directors were acclaimed to the board of the Alberta Wheat Commission. Jason Lenz from Bentley and Trevor Petersen from Penhold were acclaimed in Region 3. Lenz, who is also chair of Alberta Barley, is new to the board and replaces Terry Young while Peterson will serve a second term.

An election will be held for the director-at-large position. Janine Paly from Thorhild and Kendall Freed from Vegreville are standing for that position. Voting will take place at the five Next Level Farming events held this month and in December.

Two regional rep positions were also filled by acclamation in Region 3: current chair Kevin Bender who farms near Sylvan Lake and Kent Erickson who farms near Irma. Bender is stepping into the regional rep position after serving on Alberta Wheat’s board since its inception. He will remain chair until the organization’s AGM in January. Erickson was chair for four years before becoming a regional rep in January 2016.

Two directors on Alberta Barley’s board were also acclaimed. Shane Debock, who farms in the Barrhead area and who previously served as director-at-large, was acclaimed director in Region 5 while Brent Konstapel of Spirit River was acclaimed in Region 6.

An election for the vacant director-at-large position will be held at Alberta Barley’s AGM next month. Since there cannot be more than one director-at-large representing a region, the unclaimed position is eligible for nomination from Regions 1, 3, 5, or 6. Brian Sewell (Region 2) and Terry James (Region 4) hold two of the three director-at-large positions. There are also 22 delegate positions available. They will be chosen at regional Next Level Farming events.

About the author



Stories from our other publications