Farmers help 18 Alberta groups win $2,500 grant

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Eighteen Alberta charities and non-profits will receive $2,500 grants from the Monsanto Fund as part of the 2016 Canada’s Farmers Grow Communities program.

Each non-profit was nominated by a local farmer who applied on behalf of their favourite cause.

The program received more than 500 entries this year and 66 groups were chosen by a draw to receive a share of the $165,000 in grant money.

“You hear $2,500 and you might think that’s just a drop in the ocean,” said Kelly Funke, public affairs manager at Monsanto Canada. “What I’ve learned from speaking with farmers and charities across Canada is that this can be a huge amount for some, or even just enough to push a fundraising project to meet its goal. And all because a farmer believed in the cause enough to take action.”

Farmers living and working in the Maritimes, Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and northeastern B.C. have from mid-January to the end of September to submit their entries at

The Alberta organizations receiving $2,500 grants this year (and the farmers who nominated them) are: Hussar & District Agricultural Society (Pam Collett, Hussar); Standard Community Facility Enhancement Society — Memory Lane (Michael Rasmussen, Standard); Wetaskiwin Curling Association (Deanne Bye, Wetaskiwin); Daysland Public Library (Brian Spiller, Daysland); Moos on the Moove Dairy 4H Club (Bart Bikker, Barrhead); Eleanor Hall School Enhancement Society (Carrie Ruch, Tawatinaw); Sexsmith and District Museum Society (Jason Anderson, Sexsmith); Eaglesham Volunteer Fire Department (Fiona Love, Eaglesham); Alberta Birds of Prey Foundation (Boston Farms, Coaldale); Vulcan County Health & Wellness Foundation (Ron Markert, Vulcan); Girouxville Enhancement Committee (Alexandra Brochu, Girouxville); Fabulas — Falher & Area Beautification & Leisure Activities Society (Selena Sliger, Falher); Aspire Special Needs Resource Centre (Jennifer Griffin, Red Deer); Penhold Fire Department (Steven Harris, Penhold); Lamont Figure Skating Club (Mark Fedyniak, Star); Beaver District 4-H (Rob Roulston, Bruce); 3 Cities 4-H Equine Club (Chris Adams, Paradise Valley); and Paradise Valley & Districts Agricultural Society (Dean Davidson, Kitscoty).

About the author



Stories from our other publications