Broughton Elected As New Agriculture And Food Council Chair

Reading Time: < 1 minute

The Agriculture and Food Council of Alberta (AFC) has elected Donalda-area producer Heather Broughton as chair.

“I look forward to the opportunity to serve council as chair for this next year,” Broughton said in a release. “Many members of Alberta’s agriculture and food industry are facing challenges and trying times. There will need to be an increasing reliance on industry working together to find options and solutions to ensure our industry remains viable and positioned for growth and prosperity. Here is where I think the Agriculture and Food Council of Alberta can play a vital role having a distinct advantage with its unique structure.”

Broughton was first elected to Council in 2006, and served as its first vice-chair and second vice-chair in past years.

The new Council Executive also includes David Anderson of Calgary, first vice-chair; Blair Louden of Okotoks, second vice-chair; Ken Moholitny of Edmonton, secretary treasurer; and Larry Malazdrewicz of Calgary, federal programs chair.

Newly elected members who began their three-year terms are Teri McKinnon of Carseland, Shelley Morrison of Debolt, Sharon Mueller of Barrhead, and Frank Robinson of Edmonton.

Gregory Bott of Eckville, a student at the University of Alberta, will be student member for 2009-2010.

The AFC develops partnerships to help Alberta’s agriculture and food industry to be globally competitive, profitable and sustainable.



Stories from our other publications