Wowk takes the helm of new Alberta Beef board

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Melanie Wowk of Beauvallon is the new chair of the revamped board of Alberta Beef Producers, which has reduced the number of zones, delegates and directors.

Jason Hale of Bassano takes over Wowk’s role as vice-chair, Brodie Haugan of Orion is the new finance chair, and Pine Lake producer Kelly Smith-Fraser is the past chair.

Other board members are Darren Bevans, Colin Campbell, Rod Carlyon, Sheila Hillmer, Kent Holowath, Lee Irvine, Chris Israelson, Fred Lozeman and Mike Nadeau.

As well, Lee Irvine and Craig Lehr were named ABP’s reps on the Beef Cattle Research Council and seven Alberta producers will serve on the board of the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association: Charlie Christie, Sheila Hillmer, George L’Heureux, Doug Sawyer, Cathy Sharp, Miles Wowk and Smith-Fraser.

About the author



Stories from our other publications