4-H contributors honoured with Queen’s award

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Fifteen Canadians have been honoured with Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medals for their contribution to 4-H. They were awarded at a banquet dinner at 4-H Canada’s annual general meeting in St. John’s, Newfoundland last month.

The Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal honours Canadians of all ages and from all walks of life who have built and continue to build a caring society and country through their service and achievements. It was created in celebration of Her Majesty’s 60th anniversary of accession to the throne.

Of the 60,000 medals designated for Canadians, 33 were given to the Canadian 4-H Council to honour the significant contribution of individuals to the 4-H movement in Canada, with 13 to be presented nationally and 20 provincially.

Recipients were:

Rob Black, president, Canadian 4-H Council; George Klosler, Marie Logan, Judy Shaw, Bertram Stewart, Elizabeth Crouse and Robert McAuley, all former presidents of the Canadian 4-H Council; Valerie Pearson, vice-president, Canadian 4-H Council; Mike Nowosad, chief executive officer, 4-H Canada, Matthew Tweedy, chair, Canadian 4-H Council’s Youth Advisory Committee; Lyndon Carlson, Dori Gingera-Beauchemin, and James Hewitt, former presidents, Canadian 4-H Foundation; Hilda Bellows, co-chair, provincial 4-H council and long-time member of the 4-H program, and Gerry Sullivan, former president, provincial council, and long-time member of the 4-H program.

About the author



Stories from our other publications