New Irrigation Council members

Reading Time: < 1 minute


Alberta Agriculture and Rural Development Minister George Groeneveld has appointed Richard Stamp and Dave Ardell to the Alberta Irrigation Council.

Stamp farms in the Enchant area where he is a producer of pedigreed seeds and specialty crops. He currently serves as president of Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers’ Program, is vice-president of the Alberta Branch of the Canadian Seed Growers’ Association and is on the appeals board for the Municipal District of Taber. Ardell is currently director of Water Management Operations for Alberta Environment. He has diverse experience with the design, construction and operations of water management infrastructure in Southern Alberta and has been extensively involved with the review and delivery of environmental regulatory programs.

The two new members join council members Vern Hoff of Gleichen (chair), Peter Schuld of Lethbridge (vice-chair), Gordon Bruins of Seven Persons, Svend Rasmussen of Brooks, and Brent Paterson of Agriculture and Rural Development. The mission of the Alberta Irrigation Council is to support the Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development by providing relevant advice and regulatory administration for irrigation sustainability. For more information on the Alberta Irrigation Council visit



Stories from our other publications