Trio wins awards of distinction

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Egg Farmers of Alberta chair Susan Schafers is the 2015 recipient of the Alberta Farm Animal Care (AFAC) award of distinction for communication.

The awards were established in 2001 to recognize individuals or groups who have made exceptional contributions in the field of livestock welfare.

Dr. Ben Schlegel won the award for innovation and RCMP Cpl. Dave Heaslip, the recently retired livestock investigator, won the leadership award.

The communication award honours those who take an active role in effectively getting the message out about livestock issues, and informing the public and agri-food industry about farm animal care in a factual and honest way, to build trust and credibility.

Schafers is a second-generation egg farmer and chair of the egg farmers’ board since 2014. She has also been the Alberta representative for the Pullet Growers of Canada, the egg industry representative for AFAC, and the leader of the 4-H club in Spruce Grove.

About the author



Stories from our other publications