Get the lowdown on new beef yield grades

Slices of thick cut steaks
Reading Time: < 1 minute

Canada’s beef yield grade standards have now changed to mirror U.S. ones, with five yield classes replacing the former three classes.

The Canadian Cattlemen’s Association has several resources on its website outlining the changes and what it means to producers. This includes a brief on the five most commonly asked questions of the Canadian Beef Grading Agency, including the main differences between the old and new systems and the impact on the beef sector.

The FAQ and the first article in a three-part series on the changes can be found in the Jan. 21 edition of CCA Action News.

It can be found at the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association website.

About the author



Stories from our other publications