GFM Network News

Alberta Beef Producers starts the new year with a smaller delegate body — 30 delegates were either elected or acclaimed in a recent election (with five delegate spots still open).

Slimmed-down Alberta Beef Producers announces election results

Cattle organization has reduced the number of delegates but five positions are still open

Reading Time: 2 minutes Alberta Beef Producers’ first election for its slimmed-down delegate body is over — but the group of producers’ representatives is a little smaller than hoped. Thirty producers — five shy of the allotted number — were either elected or acclaimed during recent elections (with members of the farm group either voting online or by mail-in […] Read more

Alberta farm groups using online voting

Alberta farm groups using online voting

Voting is open until Nov. 6

Reading Time: < 1 minute Producers casting a ballot in Alberta Wheat and Alberta Barley elections can use electronic voting. The two farm groups are using a platform called ElectionBuddy, which its developers say is a secure method for member-based organizations to conduct elections. For Alberta Wheat, go to (opens as a secure ElectionBuddy link) or (opens as […] Read more

New slimmed-down Alberta Beef Producers readies for launch

Nominations must be submitted by Oct. 15

Reading Time: < 1 minute Election time is drawing near for Alberta Beef Producers. It’s been nearly a year since it approved a re-org that cuts its number of zones by nearly half and reduces the number of delegates by one-third. The organization is now accepting nominations for delegates (seven each) in its new five zones (northwest, northeast, central, southwest […] Read more

Alberta Beef Producers prepares for delegate elections

Alberta Beef Producers prepares for delegate elections

Reading Time: < 1 minute Nominations are being accepted for Alberta Beef Producers’ 2020 delegate elections. The number of zones has been reduced to five (from nine previously) with seven delegates to be elected in each. Four will serve two-year terms, and three will serve one year so there will be staggered elections in the future. Individuals standing for election […] Read more

ABP has nine zones, which can elect up to five delegates and one cattle feeder delegate.

Alberta Beef Producers delegate nominations closing soon

Nomination deadline is Aug. 31

Reading Time: < 1 minute Alberta Beef Producers is accepting nominations for delegates to run in this fall’s elections — but they must be received by Aug. 31. The organization has nine zones, which can elect up to five delegates and one cattle feeder delegate to serve two-year terms. However, elections are staggered. That means this year, there are three […] Read more

Devin Dreeshen became Alberta’s new agriculture minister on April 30.

Alberta’s new agriculture minister praised as smart, grounded, and ‘a stand-up guy’

Although just 31, Devin Dreeshen has extensive experience in politics and on the farm

Reading Time: 5 minutes Premier Jason Kenney has chosen one of his youngest MLAs to be the province’s new agriculture minister. But although he’s just 31 and has only been an MLA for 10 months, Devin Dreeshen comes to the job with a robust resumé. The Innisfail-Sylvan Lake rep is the son of veteran Tory Red Deer-Mountain View MP […] Read more

Alberta Beef Producers executive re-elected

Reading Time: < 1 minute The senior leadership of Alberta Beef Producers have all been re-elected. Charlie Christie (Trochu) will serve a second year as chair while Kelly Smith-Fraser (Pine Lake) and Melanie Wowk (Beauvallon) stay on as vice-chair and finance chair, respectively. The other board members are: Garth Porteous (Bow Island), Sheila Hillmer (Del Bonita), Chris Israelson (Didsbury), Jesse […] Read more

Delegate results from ABP fall meetings

Reading Time: < 1 minute Six new producer delegates, along with many returning ones, were elected or acclaimed at Alberta Beef Producers’ fall meetings. In Zone 5, Katlyn Benedict (Wimborne) and Kelly Fraser (Pine Lake) were elected and in Zone 6, Jill Burkhardt (Gwynne) and Assar Grinde (Bluffton) were elected while Cecil Andersen (Drayton Valley) was acclaimed as the Cattle […] Read more